Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The berry pickers : a novel  Cover Image Book Book

The berry pickers : a novel / Amanda Peters.

Peters, Amanda, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 1646221958
  • ISBN: 9781646221950
  • Physical Description: 307 pages : map ; 24 cm.
  • Publisher: New York : Catapult, 2023.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"July 1962. A Mi'kmaq family from Nova Scotia arrives in Maine to pick blueberries for the summer. Weeks later, four-year-old Ruthie, the family's youngest child, vanishes. She is last seen by her six-year-old brother, Joe, sitting on a favorite rock at the edge of a berry field. Joe will remain distraught by his sister's disappearance for years to come. In Maine, a young girl named Norma grows up as the only child of an affluent family. Her father is emotionally distant, her mother frustratingly overprotective. Norma is often troubled by recurring dreams and visions that seem more like memories than imagination. As she grows older, Norma slowly comes to realize there is something her parents aren't telling her. Unwilling to abandon her intuition, she will spend decades trying to uncover this family secret. For readers of The Vanishing Half and Woman of Light, this showstopping debut by a vibrant new voice in fiction is a riveting novel about the search for truth, the shadow of trauma, and the persistence of love across time."-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Missing children > Fiction.
Micmac Indians > Fiction.
Family secrets > Fiction.
Foreign workers > Fiction.
Families > Fiction.
Maine > Fiction.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Historical fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Novels.

Available copies

  • 13 of 65 copies available at Bibliomation.

Holds

  • 41 current holds with 65 total copies.
Sort by distance from:
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Ansonia Public Library MYS PETERS, AMANDA (Text) 34045156304672 Adult New Mystery Available -
Babcock Library - Ashford M Pet C.1 (Text) 33110157133891 Adult New Material Checked out 08/05/2024
Babcock Library - Ashford M Pet C.2 (Text) 33110157133933 Adult New Material Checked out 07/30/2024
Beacon Falls Public Library FIC PET (Text) 33120155760967 Adult Fiction Checked out 08/12/2024
Beardsley & Memorial Library - Winsted FIC PETERS (Text) 33750000089475 Adult New Fiction Available -
Beardsley Branch - Bridgeport MYS PETERS (Text) 34000151493962 Adult Fiction Checked out 08/09/2024
Beekley Community Library - New Hartford NEW F PETERS A (Text) 32544072680241 Adult New Fiction Checked out 08/01/2024
Bentley Memorial Library - Bolton FIC Pet (Text) 33160155062626 Adult New Material Checked out 08/12/2024
Bethel Public Library NEW PETERS (Text) 34030142852075 Adult New Fiction Checked out 07/30/2024
Booth & Dimock Library - Coventry AF PET (Text) 33260000606823 Adult Fiction On holds shelf -


Additional Resources