Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



All the ruined men : stories  Cover Image Book Book

All the ruined men : stories / Bill Glose.

Glose, Bill, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250279880
  • ISBN: 1250279887
  • Physical Description: pages cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2022.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"For readers of Phil Klay, Kevin Powers, and Tim O'Brien: Dramatic, powerful, authentic short stories of soldiers fighting a "forever war," in combat and back home. Combat takes a different toll on each soldier; so does coming home. All the Ruined Men by Bill Glose comprises linked stories that show veterans struggling for normalcy as they grapple with flashbacks, injuries (both physical and psychological), damaged relationships, loss of faith, and loss of memory. Beginning in 2003, All the Ruined Men spans ten years, from the confident beginning of America's "forever war" to the confusion and disillusionment that followed. As a former paratrooper and Gulf War veteran, author Bill Glose is closely bound to these stories. Drawing from his own experiences and military knowledge, Glose presents a cast of complex and sympathetic characters: young men who embraced what seemed like a war of just cause, who trained and fought and lived and died together, and who have returned to families, wives, children, civilian life, and an America that has lost its way. Unforgettable, moving, filled with moments of anguish, doubt, love, hope, and other emotions, All the Ruined Men is a singular debut collection"-- Provided by publisher.
Genre: Short stories.

Available copies

  • 2 of 5 copies available at Bibliomation.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 5 total copies.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
New Milford Public Library On Order (Text) acq1189339 Acquisitions On order -
Plumb Memorial Library - Huntington Branch FIC GLOSE (Text) 34025147533928 Adult New Fiction Available -
Silas Bronson Library - Waterbury SHSTOR FIC GLOSE, B (Text) 34005151116018 Adult New Fiction Available -
Somers Public Library On Order (Text) acq1187795 Acquisitions On order -
Woodbury Public Library On Order (Text) acq1188223 Acquisitions On order -


Additional Resources