Catalog

Many libraries have temporarily modified their hours and services at this time. Please contact your local library or check their website for details.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 7 of 202

American Street / Ibi Zoboi.

Zoboi, Ibi Aanu (author.). Miles, Robin, (narrator.). Playaway Digital Audio. (Added Author). Findaway World, LLC. (Added Author).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Bibliomation.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Easton Public Library YPL ZOBOI, IBI AANU (Text to phone) 37777139631428 Young Adult Playaway Available -

Record details

Content descriptions

General Note:
Title from Playaway label.
Originally released by Harper Audio, ℗2018.
Release date supplied by publisher.
Issued on Playaway, a dedicated audio media player.
One set of earphones and one AAA battery required for listening.
Participant or Performer Note: Performed by Robin Miles.
Summary, etc.: Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.
Awards Note:
Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2020.
Subject: Haitians United States Fiction
Immigrants United States Fiction
Vodou Fiction
Immigrants Fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
<b class='oils_SH subject complete'>Schools</b> Fiction
Cousins Fiction
Mothers and daughters Fiction
Immigrants Fiction
Haitians United States Fiction
Mothers and daughters Fiction
Cousins Fiction
<b class='oils_SH subject complete'>Schools</b> Fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
Detroit (Mich.) Fiction
Genre: Audiobooks.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9781987143102
American Street
American Street
by Zoboi, Ibi; Miles, Robin (Read by)
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

American Street


American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie-a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?
Search Results Showing Item 7 of 202

Additional Resources