Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Lily and dunkin / Donna Gephart.

Gephart, Donna, (author.). Gephart, Donna, (narrator.). Crouch, Michael, (narrator.). Gesell, Ryan, (narrator.). Listening Library. (Added Author).

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Bibliomation.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Derby Public Library DOWNLOADABLE AUDIOBOOK. CLICK ON THE LINK TO ACCESS. (Text to phone) derby1698906445129 CT State Library Downloadable Audio Book In process -

Record details

Content descriptions

General Note:
Downloadable audio file.
Title from title screen.
Restrictions on Access Note:
Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
Participant or Performer Note:
Narrated by Ryan Gesell, Michael Crouch, and Donna Gephart.
Summary, etc.:
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."--VOYA For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. "Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here's a book for anyone who's ever struggled with being different--or anyone who's ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. Donna Gephart's book is about trans children, and bipolar children, and their parents, of course, but what it's really about is friendship, and the redeeming power of love. Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring." 'Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There, and Stuck in the Middle with You. Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade. Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. A JLG Selection! An Indie Next Pick! Amazon Best Book of the Month! CBC's May Hot Off the Press! "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus "A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred "Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning."--PW "This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA From the Hardcover edition.
Target Audience Note:
7 years and up
Additional Physical Form available Note:
Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
System Details Note:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Requires RBdigital Media Manager.
System requirements: 200 MB of free disk space, 512 MB of RAM, Windows Installer 3.1, Microsoft .NET Framework 4 (x86 and x64), Windows Media Player 10 QA.
Genre: Downloadable audio books.
Audiobooks.

Additional Resources