Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 3

Available copies

  • 34 of 44 copies available at Bibliomation.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bethel Public Library On Order (Text to phone) acq904807 Acquisitions On order -
Bethel Public Library TEEN GEPHART (BMS READS) (Text to phone) 34030141685104 Teen Summer Reading Checked out 09/03/2019
Bethel Public Library TEEN GEPHART (BMS READS) (Text to phone) 34030142363453 Teen Summer Reading Checked out 08/02/2019
Black Rock Branch - Bridgeport YA GEPHART (NUTMEG NOMINEE 2019) (Text to phone) 34000081331902 Teen Center Available -
Black Rock Branch - Bridgeport YA GEPHART (NUTMEG NOMINEE 2019) (Text to phone) 34000081331910 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Burroughs-Saden Main - Bridgeport YA NUTM 2019 GEPHART (Text to phone) 34000081331928 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Burroughs-Saden Main - Bridgeport YA NUTM 2019 GEPHART (Text to phone) 34000081331936 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Burroughs-Saden Main - Bridgeport YA NUTM 2019 GEPHART (Text to phone) 34000081331944 Young Adult Fiction Available -
C.H. Booth Library - Newtown YA FIC GEPHART (Text to phone) 34014142305011 Young Adult Fiction Available -
C.H. Booth Library - Newtown YA FIC GEPHART (Text to phone) 34014142305029 Young Adult Fiction Checked out 09/10/2019
Next 10 »

Record details

Content descriptions

General Note: Includes discussion questions.
Includes an excerpt of In Your Shoes.
Nutmeg Award Nominee, Teen, 2019.
Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references (pages 333-336).
Summary, etc.: "Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth-grade. Norbert Dorfman, nicknamed Dunkin Dorfman, is bipolar and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change"--
Awards Note:
Nutmeg Award Nominee, Teen, 2019.
Subject: Friendship Juvenile fiction
Transgender people Juvenile fiction
Manic-depressive illness Juvenile fiction
Mental illness Juvenile fiction
Middle schools Juvenile fiction
Schools Juvenile fiction
Florida Juvenile fiction
Friendship Fiction
Transgender people Fiction
Manic-depressive illness Fiction
Mental illness Fiction
Middle schools Fiction
Schools Fiction
Florida Fiction
Genre: Novels.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9780553536775
Lily and Dunkin
Lily and Dunkin
by Gephart, Donna
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

Lily and Dunkin


"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." -- VOYA For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's , award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade. Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. * 2017 Southern Book Award Winner--Juvenile Category * Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health * NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016 * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 * New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016 * Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 * Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal * YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults * YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers * ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens * Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee * Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018 * Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017 * Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 * Junior Library Guild Selection * Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's * 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award * 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book * 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart , and she tells their stories with compassion."-- Kirkus "A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."-- Booklist, starred "Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation...[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning ."--PW "This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."-- VOYA " Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here's a book for anyone who's ever struggled with being different--or anyone who's ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring ." --Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 3

Additional Resources