Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search



American street [electronic resource] / Ibi Zoboi.

Zoboi, Ibi. (Author). Miles, Robin. (Narrator). HarperCollins (Firm). (Added Author).

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Bibliomation.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Derby Public Library DOWNLOADABLE AUDIOBOOK. CLICK ON THE LINK TO ACCESS. (Text to phone) derby1698956445079 CT State Library Downloadable Audio Book In process -

Record details

Content descriptions

General Note: Downloadable audio file.
Title from title screen.
Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2020.
Restrictions on Access Note:
Access restricted to subscribing institutions.
Participant or Performer Note: Narrated by Robin Miles.
Summary, etc.: American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie-a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream'
Target Audience Note:
12 years and up.
Additional Physical Form available Note:
Downloadable applications available for access via iOS 4.0+ devices (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch) and Android 2.1+ devices.
System Details Note:
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Requires OneClick Digital Media Manager.
System requirements: 200 MB of free disk space, 512 MB of RAM, Windows Installer 3.1, Microsoft .NET Framework 4 (x86 and x64), Windows Media Player 10 QA.
Awards Note:
Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2020.
Genre: Audiobooks.
Downloadable audio books.

Syndetic Solutions - BookList Review for ISBN Number 9780062661241
American Street
American Street
by Zoboi, Ibi; Miles, Robin (Read by)
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

BookList Review

American Street

Booklist


From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.

*Starred Review* Zoboi's stunning debut intertwines mysticism and love with grit and violence to tell the story of Fabiola Toussaint, a Haitian teen adjusting to her new life in Detroit. Fabiola's dream of a better life with her aunt and cousins in America snags when her mother is detained at the U.S. border. Forced to continue alone, she must also confront the reality that her new neighborhood is every bit as dangerous as the one she left behind in Port-au-Prince. Drugs, gangs, and violence pervade the status quo, but thanks to her cousins' tough reputations, Fabiola can find her footing. Zoboi, who emigrated to the U.S. from Haiti, brings a nuanced portrayal of that culture to the narrative. Evocative prose, where Fabiola calls on voodoo spirits, informs and enriches her character, while standing in counterpoint to her hard-as-nails cousins. Zoboi pulls no punches when describing the dangerous realities of the girls' lives, but tender moments are carefully tucked into the plot as well. This story is many things. It is a struggle for survival. It is the uncovering of one's bravest self. And, most significant, it is the coming together of a family. One or two scenarios strain credibility, but the characters' complexities ultimately smooth over any bumps. Fierce and beautiful.--Smith, Julia Copyright 2016 Booklist

Syndetic Solutions - Publishers Weekly Review for ISBN Number 9780062661241
American Street
American Street
by Zoboi, Ibi; Miles, Robin (Read by)
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Publishers Weekly Review

American Street

Publishers Weekly


(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Zoboi's powerful debut, set in current-day Detroit (but based on the author's experience as a Haitian immigrant in 1980s Bushwick, Brooklyn), unflinchingly tackles contemporary issues of immigration, assimilation, violence, and drug dealing. Although born in America, teenage Fabiola has grown up with her mother in Port au Prince, dreaming of a better life with her aunt and cousins in Detroit. Upon arriving in New York City, Fabiola's mother, lacking proper documents, is sent to a detention center while Fabiola must go on alone to Detroit. Shocked by the rough urban environment, her pugnacious cousins, her aunt's lethargy, and her cousin Donna's physically abusive, drug-dealing boyfriend, Dray, Fabiola turns to her Haitian spirits (lwas)-as well as a mysterious street man-for guidance, while embarking on a tentative romance with Dray's friend Kasim. When she strikes a deal with a police detective to set up Dray for arrest in exchange for her mother's release, it results in a dangerous situation with devastating results. Mixing gritty street life with the tenderness of first love, Haitian Vodou, and family bonds, the book is at once chilling, evocative, and reaffirming. Ages 14-up. Agent: Ammi-Joan Paquette, Erin Murphy Literary. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Syndetic Solutions - School Library Journal Review for ISBN Number 9780062661241
American Street
American Street
by Zoboi, Ibi; Miles, Robin (Read by)
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

School Library Journal Review

American Street

School Library Journal


(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Gr 9 Up-After her mother is detained by immigration officials, Fabiola Toussaint has to finish her move from Port-au-Prince to Detroit alone. The tough-as-nails cousins and exhausted aunt who greet her in Michigan bear little resemblance to the warm family she had dreamed of when she was in Haiti. Left with a mother-size hole in her life, Fabiola begins the unsteady process of assimilation, holding on to her family's spiritual traditions while navigating the disconnectedness and violence of her new home. A sweet romance and her cousins' fierce and complex support ease the teen into a halfway space between worlds, but her eyes remain on the prize of reuniting with her mother. When Fabiola is approached by the police to inform on her cousin's volatile boyfriend in exchange for information about her mother, she must work around the gaps in her understanding to make some explosive decisions. In this bright, sharp debut, Zoboi weaves grittiness, sensitivity, and complexity into every character, but Fabiola's longing, determination, and strength shine especially brightly. VERDICT A breathtaking story about contemporary America that will serve as a mirror to some and a window for others, and it will stay with anyone who reads it. A must-purchase for YA collections.-Beth McIntyre, Madison Public Library, WI © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Additional Resources