Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



American Street  Cover Image CD Audiobook CD Audiobook

American Street

Zoboi, Ibi Aanu (author.). Miles, Robin, (narrator.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781470859169
  • ISBN: 1470859165
  • ISBN: 1470859173
  • ISBN: 9781470859176
  • Physical Description: sound disc
    7 audio discs (8 1/2 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: [New York] : Harper Audio, [2017]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Compact discs.
Participant or Performer Note: Performed by Robin Miles.
Summary, etc.: On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie--a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by US immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.
Target Audience Note:
012-017
Awards Note:
Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2020.
Source of Description Note:
Vendor-supplied metadata.
Subject: Detroit (Mich.) Fiction
Haitians United States Fiction
Mothers and daughters Fiction
Cousins Fiction
Schools Fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
Immigrants Fiction
Detroit (Mich.) Fiction
Young adult fiction
Immigrants Fiction
Haitians United States Fiction
Mothers and daughters Fiction
Cousins Fiction
Schools Fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
Genre: Audiobooks.

Available copies

  • 5 of 5 copies available at Bibliomation.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 5 total copies.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Bethel Public Library NEW TEEN CDBK ZOBOI (H.S. NUTMEG 2019) (Text) 34030141520327 Teen Book on CD Available -
Booth & Dimock Library - Coventry Y/CD ZOB (Text) 33260000339177 Teen CD Available -
Kent Memorial Library - Suffield YA CDA ZOBOI (Text) 32518138259976 Young Adult Book on CD Available -
Southbury Public Library TEEN ZOBOI/BOOK ON CD (Text) 34019145872701 Teen Audio Book Display -
Weston Public Library YA-BKCD ZOBOI (Text) 34053142835957 Young Adult Book on CD Available -

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 9781470859176
American Street
American Street
by Zoboi, Ibi; Miles, Robin (Read by)
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

American Street


A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews! A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie--a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Additional Resources