Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 3 of 9

The underworld : a novel / Kevin Canty.

Canty, Kevin (author.).

Available copies

  • 20 of 20 copies available at Bibliomation.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Mark Twain Library Association - Redding FIC Can (Text to phone) 33620131423218 Adult Fiction Available -
Milford Public Library CANTY Kevin (Text to phone) 34013138309656 Adult Fiction Available -
Norfolk Library FIC CAN (Text to phone) 36058010243927 Adult Fiction Available -
Oliver Wolcott Library - Litchfield FIC CANTY, K (Text to phone) 36123132894419 Adult Fiction Available -
Plumb Memorial Library - Shelton FIC CANTY (Text to phone) 34025140000024 Adult Fiction Available -
Rowayton Library F CAN (Text to phone) 33625122807725 Adult Fiction Available -
Seymour Public Library F CANTY (Text to phone) 34043138597406 Adult Fiction Available -
Silas Bronson Library - Waterbury FIC CANTY, K (Text to phone) 34005107023466 Adult Fiction Available -
Southbury Public Library CANTY (Text to phone) 34019140247024 Adult Fiction Available -
Tolland Public Library F CAN (Text to phone) 34051140127682 Adult Fiction Available -
« Previous 10

Record details

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.: A tale inspired by events in an isolated Idaho mining town in the 1970s traces the experiences of a handful of survivors after a disastrous fire and how they struggle to endure wrenching losses while rebuilding and pursuing dreams made harder by the tragedy.
Subject: Silver mines and mining Accidents Idaho Fiction
City and town life Fiction
Fires Fiction
Disasters Psychological aspects Fiction
Nineteen seventies Fiction
Idaho Fiction
Genre: Historical fiction.
Psychological fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 039329305X
The Underworld : A Novel
The Underworld : A Novel
by Canty, Kevin
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

The Underworld : A Novel


For readers of Russell Banks andRichard Ford, a novel about loss,love, and redemption following acatastrophe in a small mining town. In The Underworld , Kevin Canty tells a story inspired by the facts of a disastrous fire that took place in an isolated silver mining town in Idaho in the 1970s, in which almost everyone in town lost a friend, a lover, a brother, or a husband. The Underworld imagines the fates of a handful of fictional survivors and their loved ones--Jordan, a young widow with twin children; David, a college student trying to make a life for himself in another town; Lionel, a lifelong hard-rock miner--as they struggle to come to terms with the loss. It's a tough, hard-working, hard-drinking town, a town of whores and priests and bar fights, but nobody's tough enough to get through this undamaged. A powerful and unforgettable tale about small-town lives and the healing power of love in the midst of suffering.
Search Results Showing Item 3 of 9

Additional Resources