Catalog

Many Bibliomation libraries are adjusting their services at this time. Please contact your local library staff or consult their website for more information about the services they are providing.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 8 of 212

Available copies

  • 41 of 44 copies available at Bibliomation.
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Babcock Library - Ashford YA Zob (Text to phone) 33110144130406 Adult Fiction Available -
Bethel Public Library TEEN ZOBOI (NUTMEG HS) (Text to phone) 34030141512126 Teen Fiction Available -
Bethel Public Library TEEN ZOBOI (NUTMEG HS) (Text to phone) 34030142866620 Teen Fiction Available -
Black Rock Branch - Bridgeport YA ZOBOI (Text to phone) 34000076001890 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Bolton High School FIC ZOB (Text to phone) 34062127333342 Fiction Checked out 11/09/2020
Booth & Dimock Library - Coventry YA ZOB (Text to phone) 33260000217332 Teen Fiction Available -
Brookfield Library TEEN F/ZOBOI (Text to phone) 34029138759666 Teen Fiction Available -
C.H. Booth Library - Newtown YA FIC ZOBOI (Text to phone) 34014139739719 Young Adult Fiction Available -
David M. Hunt Library - Falls Village yZOB (Text to phone) 33180141816497 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Derby Public Library YA ZOB (Text to phone) 34047137511557 Young Adult Fiction Available -
 : NUTMEG NOMINEE 2020
Next 10 »

Record details

Content descriptions

General Note: Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2020.
Summary, etc.: On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie -- a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's West Side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?
Awards Note:
Nutmeg Award Nominee, High School, 2020.
Subject: Immigrants Fiction
Haitians United States Fiction
Mothers and daughters Fiction
Cousins Fiction
Schools Fiction
Interpersonal relations Fiction
Detroit (Mich.) Fiction
Immigrants Juvenile fiction
Haitians United States Juvenile fiction
Mothers and daughters Juvenile fiction
Cousins Juvenile fiction
Schools Juvenile fiction
American Dream Juvenile fiction
Interpersonal relations Juvenile fiction
Detroit (Mich.) Juvenile fiction
Genre: Young adult fiction.

Syndetic Solutions - Summary for ISBN Number 0062473042
American Street
American Street
by Zoboi, Ibi
Rate this title:
vote data
Click an element below to view details:

Summary

American Street


A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews and multiple awards! American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie--a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream? A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year
Search Results Showing Item 8 of 212

Additional Resources